This topic contains 14 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of ChrisM ChrisM 2 years, 3 months ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #24784
    Profile photo of ChrisM
    ChrisM
    Participant
    Member since: August 16, 2017
    Posts: 140
    Supporter

    Hi All,

     

    Just wondering if anyone can help. i have put a t56 into a vn and want to get the speedo to work. i know the vns are a hall effect sensor and the t56 is a induction sensor. can anyone tell me how i can fix this?

     

    Thanks Chris

    • This topic was modified 2 years, 11 months ago by Profile photo of ChrisM ChrisM.
    #24787
    Profile photo of Judge1 Frazer
    Judge1 Frazer
    Participant
    Member since: February 5, 2016
    Posts: 726
    Supporter

    Give Malwood a ring he may have a hall affect sensor that will fit, I think the 3 wire vss is a hall affect

    #24789
    Profile photo of Stevoss
    Stevoss
    Participant
    Member since: August 27, 2016
    Posts: 73

    t56 vss is a 12v signwave

    ls1 ecu output is a 12v square wave.

    pretty sure the input for the vn cluster is 12v signwave

    digital dakota sells a box that can adjust the pulse width to suit your driveline to get the pulse count right.

    #24797
    Profile photo of ChrisM
    ChrisM
    Participant
    Member since: August 16, 2017
    Posts: 140
    Supporter

    Hi All,

    Thank you for your reply, i will look into the digital dakota box.

    #24906
    Profile photo of ChrisM
    ChrisM
    Participant
    Member since: August 16, 2017
    Posts: 140
    Supporter

    Hi All,

     

    Just an update i have go the speedo to read using the LS1 ecu out put. I just need to check if it is accurate.

    #24909
    Profile photo of VRSenator065
    VRSenator065
    Participant
    • Adelaide SA
    • VR Senator LSx454 1960 Kombi (project) 1921 Nash Hot Rod (future project)

    • View build HERE
    Member since: February 17, 2015
    Posts: 5 716
    Supporter

    Pretty sure from my poor memory when we did mine the speedo was out a little.  The engineer picked it up and wanted it fixed.  We did it on the dyno, just ran it up to a known speed and I think he just tweaked something in the ECU to correct it.

    #24914
    Profile photo of gtrboyy
    gtrboyy
    Participant
    Member since: January 20, 2016
    Posts: 201

    For the money bought 2 speedo correctors off ‘festy’ from for sale section of pcmhacking.net recently

     

    $80-$90 with ton of adjustability.

     

    Tried to link it but didn’t work,can read thread on product of it’s different uses.

     

     

     

     

    • This reply was modified 2 years, 11 months ago by Profile photo of gtrboyy gtrboyy.
    #24916
    Profile photo of VRSenator065
    VRSenator065
    Participant
    • Adelaide SA
    • VR Senator LSx454 1960 Kombi (project) 1921 Nash Hot Rod (future project)

    • View build HERE
    Member since: February 17, 2015
    Posts: 5 716
    Supporter

    Nice work

    #24917
    Profile photo of Immortality
    Immortality
    Participant
    Member since: August 31, 2015
    Posts: 532

    Or download a GPS app on your phone, go for a drive and then adjust.

    #24919
    Profile photo of VRSenator065
    VRSenator065
    Participant
    • Adelaide SA
    • VR Senator LSx454 1960 Kombi (project) 1921 Nash Hot Rod (future project)

    • View build HERE
    Member since: February 17, 2015
    Posts: 5 716
    Supporter

    Or download a GPS app on your phone, go for a drive and then adjust.

    Is it easy to adjust yourself or do you have to have one of those scan tool thingys?

    #24921
    Profile photo of Immortality
    Immortality
    Participant
    Member since: August 31, 2015
    Posts: 532

    Depends on the PCM.

    #24927
    Profile photo of gtrboyy
    gtrboyy
    Participant
    Member since: January 20, 2016
    Posts: 201

    If ls ecu & vn speedo are same signal then adjusting that way with gps phone app to check speed will be fine.

     

    Assumed signal would be different the way vn-p speedo works.

    #24929
    Profile photo of Immortality
    Immortality
    Participant
    Member since: August 31, 2015
    Posts: 532

    Easiest way VN-VS would be to get a speedo corrector kit.  VT onward you can get the app to modify the dash data to correct the speedometer.

    Obviously if you have an LS style PCM and access to HP tuners or the like than it can be done via the PCM.

    #26508
    Profile photo of Stevoss
    Stevoss
    Participant
    Member since: August 27, 2016
    Posts: 73

    Hi All, Just an update i have go the speedo to read using the LS1 ecu out put. I just need to check if it is accurate.

    So it did work directly, without the signal converter?

    #26514
    Profile photo of ChrisM
    ChrisM
    Participant
    Member since: August 16, 2017
    Posts: 140
    Supporter

    Hi Stevoss, yeah it worked with out a converter. The speedo and tachometer were out. I know the speedo was out by 30kms and efi dynamics corrected them through the ECU.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.